Adventures of a camp counselor…

So, two weeks ago, I was at camp…

It was my fourth(and most likely final) year as a camp counselor. And that week was amazing. I was truly in awe of the work that the Lord is doing in the lives of these young men and women! The fact that I was able to assist in them pushing forward in their relationships with Christ? There are no words to describe how I feel.

If you’ve never been a camp counselor, or a youth leader, I highly recommend it. Every year, without fail, the enemy tries to prohibit me from going. This past year, I was dealing with a situation with another person in the church, and was not wanting to go. I actually prayed that I’d start a job in Washington before camp, just so I wouldn’t have to deal with this person. But the Lord has His own plans, despite my objections, and I had to lean on Him for understanding…and oh my word, do I understand now!!!

We say camp is a week, in reality, it’s three days. We leave Monday, return home Friday. On Monday we arrived, and right away I could feel the tension with this other person. But I decided that since it’s probably my last year, I’m going to make it the best year!! We weren’t able to get into our cabin right away, so some of my girls went to practice worship, while others went to hang with their friends. I finally got into the cabin and began writing my goodbye letters to my girls…it was a lot harder than I had anticipated, because even writing to the girls that I didn’t know as well was breaking me down!!! Monday night, I pulled all the girls aside separately and said my simple goodbye. I figured I’d get it out of the way and we’d make the week awesome!

The theme for the week was crossroads, and it was wonderful to hear the various speakers tell us about the crossroad that took them to where they’re at now. But it got me thinking, don’t we all have more than one crossroad in our lives? Don’t we continually come across a moment when we need to come up with a decision that will either make or break us?

That’s a topic for another day though. I still want to tell you about camp. There was the usual drama that always happens. But I can honestly say that the presence of the Lord was felt throughout that camp. The friendships that were rocky or barely in existence were bonded, the sibling rivalries were squashed, the old heartache…that’s still a work in progress. But God is so good.

On Wednesday night, it was unbelievable. So many young people felt the call on their hearts to surrender everything to Christ. They made choices to die to their old lives, to give up the ways of the world in a commitment to the one true King. To even have played a small role in those kids lives was something that I will truly never forget.

But then the enemy realized what was happening. The enemy realized that he was losing all these kids to the power of Christ. And he came in full force. Anything and everything that could go wrong for these kids, went wrong. My heart hurt with seeing some of the struggles they went through, some of the hurt, anger, jealousy, and heartbreak from the past. Any of the insecurities that the enemy wanted them to feel came through as well. It was freaking ridiculous. Honestly, so much good happening and the stupid devil had to try and pull everyone down?!?! Heck no!! I made sure to speak with my girls and encourage them to focus on the good things that the Lord was doing in their lives, to fight against the drama the enemy was going to attack them with. Praise goes to God for giving the girls the strength to power through!!
 
   The rest of the week was great, It still had moments of drama. I still had to deal with this person harassing me about everything under the sun. It was tough, but I made sure that my kids saw that I was dealing with it in a graceful, and God honoring manner, despite how I actually felt haha.
 
The Sunday after camp (last Sunday), a handful of my kids (after prayer, and consideration) were baptized!!!!!! I was so freaking proud! These kids not only gave their lives to Christ, but they wanted to publicly declare that they were dying to their old lives, giving up the junk that the enemy was holding over them, and moving forward with Christ as their number 1!!!! Ahhhh!!!! It was incredible!

This year, despite the drama, despite the anger, despite the enemy trying to bring us down, we conquered!  I know I’m going to miss these kids like crazy! And it’s going to be hard becoming a youth leader at a new church. But I know the Lord is not only leading me, but these young adults to a bright and amazing future that’s filled with unimaginable blessings! I’m praying that these kids won’t just let this camp experience have just been a mountain top/one week thing. I’m praying that they live this life to the fullest!!!

You guys are all the best!!!
Love y’all,
Kelsey H. 💕💕
Hisfavoritestory@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

