Working towards living an infinitely better life

I have finally found some downtime!! Woohoo

Okay, so in reality I’ve had downtime. But I chose to read instead of updating everyone on the goings on in my life. Which, now that I think about it, is kind of a jerk move on my part. So, I’m sorry.

Today has been pretty great, yesterday was the freaking best!! 

The reason today has been great is because it’s been cloudy and pouring rain like crazy! I’ve basically been in heaven. Plus, it was my easy day at work cause all I had to do was get the kid to the bus stop this morning and I was done! 

But yesterday! Let me tell you about that life! Actually I have to give you a quick recap of last week then you’ll understand more about why yesterday was such a breakthrough.

So last week, I had a cold! It was pure misery. I felt blah before I took off for Washington, but my body was going through so much stress that other issues took precedent. Then, when I finally settled for a bit, it hit me! Hard! I was dealing with the sore throat, body aches, chest congestion, stuffy nose, and hacking up a lung coughing misery. I was feeling it last weekend, and last Monday it got me. Also on Monday, my kid was being a freaking punk(not the word I want to use, so use your imagination). He got home from school and didn’t want to do his homework. Which doesn’t roll well with me, since the first week I started him on a schedule! I’ll post it below, I hasn’t been written out ever, but the kid knows what it is.

SCHEDULE(AS MADE BY KELSEY HAYDEN, CHANGES MUST BE APPROVED BY HER AS WELL)

3:30-3:45 Kid gets home from school. Has fifteen minuets to chill out, find a snack, and generally unwind from a hectic day of 3rd grade.

3:45 Kid starts homework. Literally one page of 3rd grade math. Kid knows that depending on how long he takes to do his homework, and how much he complains, he will get time either added or subtracted from his free time(typically an hour).

4:20-5 Free time!!! He usually just plays video games. But sometimes, he’ll actually go outside and live life in the fresh air!

5-5:20 Reading time. This is followed by a quick five minute summary of what he read, which needs to be written in a school journal.

Once that’s all finished he’s free to do whatever until his dad gets home. Easy Peasy!

Okay, so now you know the schedule. 

Last Monday, the kid came home from Scholl and refused to do homework, refused to speak to me other than in grunts or glares. I suggested he clean off the living room table which he was doing when he made a jerk comment about me ‘never doing anything’ around the house. This was said after I wasn’t home all weekend and came back a kitchen full of dirty dishes which I proceeded to clean because that’s how I was raised. To say I was mad, is so understated it’s not even funny. I gave the kid a chance to say it louder, which he realized would have been unwise, I gave him a chance to take it back, which he sarcastically did. Then his neighbor friends wanted to play which I said no to because he needed to do his homework. Did he listen? Nope! He walked right out the door. When he finally came back in he ran upstairs and slammed doors since I told him I’d be discussing the whole afternoon with his father. So when the dad finally got there. I started to tell him the whole deal. But when I got to the part where the kid told me I didn’t do anything, he flipped! He went inside, there was yelling, brought the kid out and made him apologize. I appreciated it. But my voice started going away, and the dad took note of that and said I should go get some rest. I did, he brought me a rockin dinner of chicken Alfredo. I took whatever Nyquil I had, and that was that. The next day was an easy Tuesday, so I got the kid to the bus and went into my Nyquil coma. I woke around the time that the kid would get back from school, and the dad was already home. He handed me a glass of Orange juice, told me he picked up some chicken noodle soup, and handed me a bag with Nyquil. He also told me he was off the next day so I didn’t need to get up early!! I may, or may not, have cried upon entering my bedroom…we all know I totally did! How could I not?! Someone, who had no reason to, was taking care of me!! It was really nice.

Anyway, fast forward to yesterday. I’m finally feeling better. I was feeling better Friday, but stayed closer to the house instead of exploring cause I didn’t want to push it. In the morning, kid woke up. No issues. No grumbling. Nothing. Good start for me!! I got in some intense Zumba, did some core exercises, showered and ran errands(where I met a cute guy that I’m going out with on Saturday, but that’s a story for another time). When I got back I took a power nap. Life was truly spectacular! Then the kid came home, took out his homework, sat at the table and did it. But let’s not forget that while he was sitting down he asked me how my day had been!!!:mrgreen::mrgreen: I was shocked. But I figured I would just wait and see what he wanted. So, he finished his homework. In ten minutes! I let him have an hour and a half of play time. While he was playing video games in his room, I was in mine reading. Five minutes before his time was up I was about to go get him, but I heard the game shut off…I walked out to the living room to find him already reading!!!!! It was way too good to be true. So I asked what had gotten into him. He proceeded to tell me he wanted to have a good day. I mentioned that keeping it up would be appreciated and he agreed! He finished his reading, wrote his summary, and asked if he could go play. I asked if he’d take out the trash.  He did. Without complaining. At all!! I was truly impressed.

After that, the dad and I sat down. He told me that when I’m there, I’m in charge. If the kid is disrespectful, call him out on it. If he’s slamming doors, take away games. Then the dad asked if I was comfortable. We talked about how I was freaking out the first week but I was finding my bearings. And finally, we discussed the fact that they’re moving in November and they want me to move with them. So, come November, I’ll be going further North to Bellevue. It’s gonna be interesting, and I’m praying about what this means church wise. But as always, God is in control!! And I’m following His lead!! There’s so much more I have to tell you about this week. But I’m exhausted and gonna go ahead and crash. Just know that I’m safe. I’m working on finding my happiness. And I love you guys!!

-Kelsey 💕💕
Hisfavoritestory@gmail.com

Also, I’ve been asked a few questions on my e-mail, so I’ll be answering those soon too!!

image

Leave a Reply

