The happiest of days

So this past week has been a little(a lot) hard for me, in terms of me being homesick. I’m fairly certain the main reason is because today is my momma’s birthday, and I couldn’t be there! So, after having a small breakdown last night. And several tears today. I decided to write my mom a birthday letter. I’ll post it here so you can know how rockin she is!!

Dear Momma,
Thank you.
Thank you for holding me when I cry.
Thank you for cleaning up my scraped knees, and random messes.
Thank you for making me laugh when all I can think of is crying.
Thank you for teaching me how to be a woman of God by giving me such wonderful examples!
Thank you for staying awake with me until early hours of the morning because I just needed to talk.
Mom, you rock!
I’m well aware that I was not the best child at times. I know sometimes I hurt you when I was hurting. And you absolutely did not deserve that. You’ve always walked alongside me and helped me figure things out. You’ve shown me and encouraged me to follow through on what’s honoring to God. You put on a brave face when I’m terrified of what the possible outcome will be. And you’ve shown me it’s okay to have bad days, as long as I don’t dwell there.
Mom, you’ve been there for me when I know you were exhausted. You’ve stayed awake with me, just cause I needed to talk through things. You’ve helped heal broken hearts and sat through long hospital visits. I remember being in so much pain, and terrified of what could be wrong with me (kidney stones) and you just held me and got me endless ice packs and barf bags (it was  not a pleasant experience), and pleaded with the nurses to help me.
Over the years I’ve realized that being a mom doesn’t mean just being in charge of a child that you carried. Being a mom means making tough decisions that will sometimes make your kid hate you, but ultimately benefits them. Being a mom means being a nurse, and trying to keep your calm when all you want to do is cry because your baby is not okay. Being a mom means being a therapist, because your kid kid just went through a breakup and while you want to go punch the little jerk that broke their heart, you know just listening and advising against slashing tires is the best solution. Being a mom means being a teacher, and helping your child learn to survive through the easiest and the most difficult of times. Being a mom means being a chef, and putting up with random food phases(tuna salad for a month). Being a mom means being a chauffeur, and putting up with the same CD (Green Day American Idiot) on repeat for months at a time. Being a mom means being a musician, and making up lullabies or altering the ones that are slightly terrifying. Being a mom means being a stylist, or in my case letting me be a stylist. Being a mom means letting me do your hair, even when it ends up with me pulling your hair and pushing hair clips into your scalp. Being a mom means being an advocate, it means you fight for your kid to get the things needed to thrive. Being a mom means sometimes being a dad, this one you’ve had to do a lot. You’ve had to be both the good cop, and the bad cop. You’ve had to work to provide for both of us, sometimes going without because you knew I needed something. I know sometimes it might have been easier to have a father in my life, but I want you to know that I never really needed one. You always took care of me. You always fought for me, even when it was against myself.
Mom, I know you have hard days. I know life hasn’t been the easiest for you. I know I haven’t been the easiest. But I’m so thankful that God gave me you as a mom! I’m thankful that you have always loved me, even when you didn’t like me. You’re a rockstar mom! I’m blessed beyond words because I get to call you mom, and I hope one day I can be as awesome as you!! I love you so much, and hope you had an awesome day. I’ll see you soon!!!

Love you,
Kelsey (your favorite;))

image

One thought on “The happiest of days

Leave a Reply

