They say it’s your birthday

It’s time for a BIRTHDAY POST!!!!!!! 

It’s March 22nd, and that means it’s my Monma’s birthday.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to fly down as a surprise this year.  Last year was insanely awesome!  I did get to see her earlier this month when I flew down for a funeral.  I’m glad I got a few days to sort of celebrate.  Anywho! Let’s do this!

Dear Momma,

  You kick ass. You just do. I don’t know many women who can handle a teenage jerk rebelling for days, a full-time job, paying multiple bills, and maintaining some semblance of sanity (I say some because we all know you’re kind of crazy. It’s a ‘fun crazy ‘ though ). You’ve taught me so much throughout my life. Some of which I didn’t listen to  (and probably should have). Some of which hurt at the time. And some of which molded me into who I am today. 

I’m immensely thankful for your mad cooking skills, so is anyone who has had your cooking. I’m thankful for your 4 hour long phone calls letting me vent about my life. I’m thankful for you going with me to midnight movie releases. I’m thankful for you going to concerts with me. I’m thankful for your awesome hugs. But mostly, I’m thankful for your love. You love unconditionally, and you wear your heart on your sleeve. I know you hurt sometimes. I know I’ve been the reason for that hurt sometimes (not lately cause I’m awesome). I know that you’ve powered through and have discovered that friends make the best family. 

I also want to thank you for defending me. Especially this past year, when people that should know better tried to tear me down and drag my faith through the mud. You were there with words of encouragement and polite defense when all I wanted to do was be rude and angry. 

You know my heart,  and are always there for me. I don’t have enough words to say how thankful I am for God giving me the best mom! Thank you for your years of encouragement, honesty, and love. Thank you for being my shoulder to cry on, hands to hold,  friend to tell my ideas to, and strength during the hard times. 

You’re an amazing mom. I love you so much and miss you a lot! I hope you have the best day ever, we will go do something when I’m there this summer! 
Love,

Kelsey(your favorite daughter)

Leave a comment