Proud to be an Anomaly

This week is Early Dismissal week at the school, so I pretty much have the kid all day. 😦  But I told y’all that I would post about the Lecrae concert, and I will!

If you expected me to post that it sucked, or was somehow disappointing, you were so freaking mistaken!!

It was unbelievable!! I was hoping my friend from church would be able to go with me. But she couldn’t make it. So I decided to rock the concert Han style(Solo)<—shoutout to How I Met Your Mother for that line. When I got there I happened to run into this really cute guy that I met not too long after I arrived in Washington. Turns out Really Cute Guy, or RCG as he will be referred to, is a Christian!! He and his friends (all guys), were psyched about the show and asked me to sit with them! I'm starting to think my luck has changed for the better since moving up here!

Anyway, we got our seats, and talked about what songs we hoped they would perform. Unfortunately, my phone was really close to dying, but RCG assured me he would take pictures and send them to me!! The show opened with DJ Promote, who rocked the house with mixes that included Steve Aoki, Tedashii, and none other than Nirvana in honor of it being Seattle! He only performed for 30 minutes, but it was a really awesome set and I got the crowd pumped!! Up next was the amazing Andy Mineo! He started with Neverland and I was in my happy place from that point on! His set was my favorite, if I'm being honest I pretty much just wanted to go for him!  His energy levels are all over the place! The guy was riding his skateboard all over the freaking stage! I loved the videos that he had rolling during song changes, the story that ties all the songs together was great! When he ended with an encore of You Will I was beyond elated! He won't read this, but he's an awesome performer, and is totally making sure everything in his life is being done for the glory of God. I think that is such a cool and respectable thing to do when you're in a position as he is with fans looking up to you!

image

Now onto Lecrae and his freaking boss set!

Seriously! He opened with Welcome to America, and went straight into Nuthin’. He knows how to work the crowd like crazy! The last time I saw that was at the Monumentour show back in August with Hayley Williams! He was all over the place, getting everyone pumped! He also had videos rolling between his songs, but they told his testimony. No matter how many times I hear, or read his testimony, I am always so in awe! I’ve told you all how much I love reading your testimonies, and I mean it! We all have stories! We are all anomalies! We are all set apart for Christ, and that is so amazing to me! Lecrae is so passionate about what he does, he’s so on fire for Christ and wants to share that love with everyone! When he performed Tell the World, he shared that he knew he was nothing without Christ, that he would have been dead by this point had he not accepted the Lord in his life. Like Andy Mineo, he put his life and love of Jesus on display. I know that there were definitely some people in that stadium that felt a call on their lives! You could absolutely feel God’s presence in that building! It was so rockin’! The show closed with Lecrae and Andy performing an encore to Say I Won’t with Lecrae wearing a Seahawks jersey and challenging people to say he won’t wear the jersey and play the drums! He did! OMG it was freaking awesome!! Throughout the show I had to make sure RCG was taking pics of the glory that was the Anomaly tour! I love that we’re all part of this crazy world and that we have these connections through music and by being a family of anomalies. It holds a part of my heart that I can have this bond with y’all!

Now it’s time for your favorite part of my posts………..

O&A TIME WITH KELSEY!!!!!!!
😍😍💕💕💬💬🙌🙌👍👍

QUESTION 1: Have you found a new church?

Yes, I think I mentioned it in other posts. On my first Sunday here I went to Living Hope in Puyallup. I ran into an old friend that went to Riverside Christian Assembly, and met the youth leader, and the lead pastor. All of them know my pastor and family from the desert! I felt completely welcome from day one. Even when I was interviewing for a job in Seattle they were bummed that I would be leaving the church if I was a long distance away and wouldn’t come back to visit. So, until I feel called somewhere else, I have found my church in WA.

QUESTION 2: What is your Halloween costume?

I think I left my Alice in Wonderland costume in storage in California, which sucks, cause I wanted to do that again. So, I will either see what I can find at Target, or go for a broken porcelain doll look with makeup and normal clothes.

Also, while I’m on the topic of Halloween. I love Halloween. I like dressing up, and having fun with friends. Does this make me a devil worshiping heathen? Not at all. I just like to have fun. I know that there is that darkness in the world. I’m not ignorant to what Halloween means to those people. That’s not me though. I really don’t like it when people judge me based on things I do, like dressing up and having fun on Halloween. It’s fine to have your own opinions on the day, but it’s also okay to keep those to yourself.

QUESTION 3: Is it bad to be a Christian and drink alcohol?

Nope. It even shows believers drinking in the Bible. Everyone has different opinions of this too. I’m gonna just assure you that pretty much everyone has different opinions, and interpretations on various points in the Bible. I’m not saying mine are the right one. I am just saying what I take from the Word. As a Christian, I don’t think it’s right to get trashed while drinking. Healthwise it isn’t good either. Yeah, I’ve done it. Yeah, I’ve lived that crazy, wild, party lifestyle. I can tell you, it isn’t worth it. If you’re legally able to, and you want to have a drink with dinner, or out with friends, you do you. Just don’t overdo it.

Yet again, I’m gonna do my don’t judge me disclosure haha. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. That’s all I’m saying. Matthew 7:1-5 lays it out perfectly. Though, if I see something going on that is obviously illegal, or unsafe, I will step in! (THIS IS SOMETHING THE KIDS IN MY YOUTH GROUP KNOW)

QUESTION 4: Do you ever think about your ex boyfriends?

I do. I will sometimes remember the fun, amazing times I spent with them (driving around at midnight listening to music. Or, watching meteor showers in the back of the truck). Or, the horrid habits that I can laugh about now (speaking Klingon thinking it’s romantic. Or, smoking! Ugh, so gross) I don’t think about them in terms of ever getting back together with any of them, but I did have special moments with each of them, and that’s why I think of them sometimes.

QUESTION 5: How do you feel about your relationship with your mom?

I have an awesome relationship with my mom! I’m kind of her favorite! Haha It’s been just me and her since I was born. We have always had a Gilmore Girls type of bond. (if you haven’t seen that show, you’re missing out) We have our moments of fighting, just like anyone would. But in the end, she would die for me, stand in the gap for me, and fight for me. Cause she loves me… though she won’t admit that out loud haha  

QUESTION 6: Do you have a nickname? What is it?

I have many nicknames. Ones that my mom has for me. Some that my friends have for me. And some from my youth group weirdos. My mom calls me Booger, and there is another one, but I don’t tell others that one. My friends nicknames for me aren’t great, and they’re inside jokes, so I’ll keep those to myself. My youth group weirdos call me Kelp Juice, Mom, Mommy, and Kelpie. I was annoyed at first by being called a Mom, but they are my kids, so I guess I get it haha

QUESTION 7: What do you do when you’re alone in the car?

I sing and dance like a crazy person. I will typically have my windows rolled down, and be blasting my radio. I get looks. I don’t really feel bothered by that though haha, I like to have fun. People are usually surprised that I know most lyrics to rap songs when they see me spitting rhymes like a boss ;p

QUESTION 8: What is the worst date you’ve ever been on?

Oh sweet Lord! I’ve had a few! But the one that really killed me was last March. This guy was super persistent. I was FB friends with him, but I couldn’t remember meeting him. Anyway, it turns out it was his first date. Which is not that big of an issue. But I showed at the restaurant and realized he didn’t brush his teeth or something, cause his breath smelled like rotting asparagus and cat pee. Ugh!! Then he proceeded to order Onion rings and water for dinner, which meant the smell wouldn’t be improving. Then when I would stop talking so I could eat, he would say  “awkward silence”… rude! Then we went to see a movie and he stared at me and kept asking if I wanted to leave throughout the entire movie! Though the worst part was when we walked to my car after the movie, he leaned in, it was obvious he was going for the kiss, but I managed to turn it to a hug. While hugging he turned his face into my neck and straight up sniffed me!! We’re talking full inhale of my hair and neck! I still get creeped out when I think of it. Anyway, there were many details I left out. But it was the worst date I’ve ever been on.

QUESTION 9: What are your special talents?

This one was sent by Saweenie. I don’t even know how to answer this haha

I guess counseling others?  I’ve always been able to talk it out with people and get situations fixed as easily as they could possibly go. 

Also, I can make babies calm down and fall asleep quickly. Baby Whisperer status!!

QUESTION 10: Would you go on a missions trip to another country?

If I felt called to go on a missions trip, yes. One of my favorite things about my church in California was that we were a big supporter of sending missionaries all over the world. I would tithe to that. But I am more than willing to stay home and minister in the States. I don’t know what God has in store for my life, but He knows my heart, and that I am willing to go.

Anyway, that was my weekend! It was amazing, and I had so much fun!! Plus, I have a date for coffee on Saturday!!😍 Keep sending your prayers, prayer requests, questions, and testimonies! I always love reading them!! Love y’all and miss y’all!!

~Kelsey H.💕💕
Hisfavoritestory@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Proud to be an Anomaly

Leave a comment